Council of Yukon First Nations

Coalition Member

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

CYFN logoHead of Government/Organization: Grand Chief Peter Johnston

Description: The Council of Yukon First Nations (CYFN) was formed under the Societies Act of the Yukon and operates under a constitution which has been adopted by its member First Nations at a General Assembly. At present, the CYFN is made up of 9 Yukon First Nations: the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, the Teslin Tlingit Council, the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, the Selkirk First Nation, the Little Salmon Carmacks First Nation, the Tr’ondek Hwech’in First Nation, the Ta’an Kwach’an Council, the Kluane First Nation, the White River First Nation and the Carcross/Tagish First Nation. Four other First Nations in the Yukon Territory, Liard First Nation, Kwanlin Dun First Nation, Vuntut Gwichin First Nation and Ross River Dena Council have chosen to work independently of CYFN at the present time.

At the Annual General Assembly in 2004, CYFN welcomed four Gwich’in First Nations from the Mackenzie River Delta region into the organization: the Tetlit Gwich’in Council, the Nihtat Gwich’in Council, the Ehdiitat Gwich’in Council and the Gwichya Gwich’in Council.

Land Claim Agreements: First Nation Final Agreements have been reached with 11 of the Yukon First Nations to date. These are: The First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun in Mayo, the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations in Haines Junction, the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation in Old Crow, the Teslin Tlingit Council in Teslin, the Little Salmon-Carmacks First Nation in Carmacks, the Selkirk First Nation in Pelly Crossing, the Kluane First Nation in Burwash Landing, The Ta’an Kwach’an Council in Whitehorse, The Tr’ondek Hw’echin First Nation in Dawson City, The Carcross Tagish First Nation in Carcross and Kwanlin Dun First Nation in Whitehorse. Several of the remaining Yukon First Nations are at or near completion of their negotiations and are pending on resolution of some final issues.

Signatories to the Agreement: Federal Government, Government of the Yukon, and the individual First Nations (see above)

Key Dates Yukon First Nations Final Agreements: 

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations – May 1993
(Signed); Feb. 14, 1995 (Effective Date)

First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun – May 1993
(Signed); February 14, 1995 (Effective Date)

Teslin Tlingit Council – May 1993
(Signed); February 14, 1995 (Effective Date)

Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation – May 1993
(Signed); February 14, 1995 (Effective Date)

Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation – July 1997
(Signed); October 1, 1997 (Effective Date)

Selkirk First Nation – July 1997
(Signed) October 1, 1997 (Effective Date)

Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation – July 1998
(Signed); October 1, 1998 (Effective Date)

Ta’an Kwäch’än Council – January 2002
(Signed); April 1, 2003 (Effective Date);

Kluane First Nation – October 2003
(Signed); February 2, 2004 (Effective Date)

Kwanlin Dün First Nation – February 2005
(Signed); April 1, 2005 (Effective Date)

Carcross/Tagish First Nation – October 2005
(Signed); January 9, 2006 (Effective Date)

Brief description of the region covered by claim:  First Nations areas in the Yukon Territory, and four Gwich’in First Nations along the Mackenzie River Valley

Total Land Area: 16,000 square miles (41,439.81 square kilometers) which includes the land allocated to the three unsettled First Nations.

First Nations/Inuit within the Land Claims Area:
Champagne and Aishihik First Nations:
First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun:
Teslin Tlingit Council:
Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation:
Selkirk First Nation:
Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation:
Ta’an Kwäch’än Council: 
Kluane First Nation:
Carcross/Tagish First Nation:

There are three unsettled First Nations: White River First Nation, Liard First Nation and Ross River Dena Council.

Indigenous Languages Spoken:  Gwich’in, Tr’ondek Hwech’in, Upper Tanana, Northern Tutchone, Southern Tutchone, Tagish, Inland Tlingit, Kaska

Land Claims Agreements Coalition - Logos & Member List